Site
 Meter

. .
. . just fucking charming .
. Bridget has decided to tell her best friend about me tonight which is a pretty big deal so now I'm just sitting around waiting for her to email me and inform me whether or not I am to blame for the ruin of their friendship. I was thinking about the whole thing earlier and wondering if I would feel guilty if the whole thing went over badly and I've come to the conclusion that I really wouldn't be. Is this evidence again of my insensitivity?

I got an email earlier from Bridget that simply said: "I'm telling Meg tonight. I'm so fucking scared." And my only reaction to it was She's so damn cute. (I find anything with the word 'fuck' artfully attached to be rather endearing). How empathetic of me.

I think it will be fine though. The friend is one of those overly-political, super-PC, high school wannabe intellectuals so I certainly don't expect her to persecute her best friend for liking a girl. She may not be pleased that said girl is me but whatever. Fuck her if that's the case. And I think she's started to catch on a bit already. I mean, if you look at it from her perspective, her boy-ishly cute friend is ditching her to spend an excessive amount of alone time with the resident lesbian. I think there's a pretty clear conclusion to be drawn from that. She's a smart girl. I don't see why she wouldn't have figured it out by now. This, of course, is not something I pointed out to Bridget.

The only issue that would bring up trouble is Bridget's whole "I'm straight but . . ." plea. For me, I don't really care what the fuck she is or claims to be or any of that bullshit. She's mine and I don't need any other label to stick on her or any category to file her away in. But the straight, small town friend is going to have a little trouble grasping Bridget's sort of pansexual outlook on the whole thing. That part of it is going to be a little messy.

I just hope that if it goes over well I don't have to start spending a lot of time with the girls' other friends. I just don't need that.

last - next

.