Site
 Meter

. .
. . just fucking charming .
. I've been taken up in a new whirlwind of motivation. At about the same time yesterday I felt like absolute shit and now I feel like and insanely huge weight has been lifted off my chest and I can breathe again. When did it start? It started when I emailed the head of the Women's Resource Center and told her I'd perform in the Vagina Monologues when the put it on in March which is insane because I've never done anything like that before, but why not? I can do it . . . maybe. We'll see. It'll be fun and I'm excited and it feels good to be excited. It feels good to really be looking foward to my classes this semester and to feel motivated by my professors. It feels good to be looking forward to my weekend-- hanging out with Megan and Kim and going to see Ani on Sunday with Erica. It feels good to be excited about and invested in MY life and what's going on with me.

Because I think that's what was kicking my ass and had me in such a rut. On top of the ache of having Bridget leave (which is an unaviodable, omnipresent force in my life right now-- that's just the way it goes) I was letting myself flip out everytime I heard about the things she is doing and the people she is meeting and all the rest of the good things going on that you would think I would be happy about. Because I felt like since she is experiencing what I perceived to be more interesting, stimulating things and people that she was distracted from how hard it is to be away from each other. So while I got to hear about her having fun, I was sitting on my ass doing a whole lot of nothing and just suffering more than necessary and resenting the fact that she wasn't just suffering and miserable right along with me.

I think it was sort of a 'dad' moment where I wanted-- no, better yet, expected-- someone else to bring me my happiness instead of getting off my lazy ass and getting it for myself. And when no one else delivered what I wanted, I expected everyone else to wallow in my misery with me. No one else needs to be standing in my shit. I don't need to be standing in my shit.

I told some girl I'd do a monologue and my whole mindset changed. If I send my mom a letter, that's another weight that would be lifted. If I just write a little bit more, I'd feel better. If I was a little more open, my perception of other people would change. It's not impossible to feel more positive about myself and my life-- it isn't even that hard. I just haven't been trying.

last - next

.