Site
 Meter

. .
. . just fucking charming .
. First day at the new housekeeping job. It was really special. My supervisor, Jody, is both trashy and adorable, and she walks funny so that her ponytail swings from side to side out past her shoulders. I imagine her at home pensively sitting at her kitchen table, beer in hand and her mother's Patsy Cline records playing. Incidentally, she's the only one that I like so far. They gave me a Baymont coffee mug full of candy (a gift that combines my two major addictions), which is more than Kmart has given me in two and a half years. I was impressed. But I really hope that they train me for the front desk in the near future, because as much as I don't strike others as being as customer service kind of girl and as much as I honestly hate it, I've found that I feel much more at home answering phones and balancing five thousand things at once and taking the brunt of customer complaints than wiping toliets with nasty old ladies who sweat profusely and are missing multiple teeth. And the uniform for the people at the front desk involves a vest and one of those limp ties that all the female cubicle slaves wore in the 80's, and if I got to wear that, I know I'd spend the entire time pretending I was Maggie Gyllenhaal in Secretary. It would be superhot and it would be even better because I would be the only one who would know it. Plus, the front desk people get to use the fancy computer system for making reservations and they don't have to deal with hair.

On a distantly related side note, when I was standing around doing nothing at Kmart the other day (the other reason I like customer service jobs), there were two women talking and one of the women ended the conversation by saying "Yeah, just stop by my cubicle sometime." And that just struck me as being an insanely weird phrase to utter and I found myself feeling really sorry for her. I also dreaded the possibility of ever uttering those words myself at any moment in my future. Anyway.

When I was done with work, I went downtown and bought incense for the apartment that I don't have yet. It was a reward to myself for-- nothing, really. I just wanted incense.

We're going out tonight and I'm dreading the possibility of running into Bridget, just as I was last night and just as I will be until next Sunday night when she finally returns to her own world. Hopefully, she will spend her springbreak living the life of the loser and won't be leaving her house very often.

I just took a break to sniff my incense. I can't wait to have my own space to baptize with the scent of jasmine.

last - next

.