Site
 Meter

. .
. . just fucking charming .
. Megan, here's something for you to ponder prior to it becoming a discussion point tomorrow night at Perkins:

I have hair issues because I don't feel comfortable unless my hair is long, but I don't want to have that . . . well . . . hippie look. I feel like right now my appearance says "I like compost heaps and camping and I'll kick your ass if you trample my flowers." But the attitude it should be reflecting is "I like electronic rock and fashion magazines and I'll kick your ass if you spill my coffee." I want something that looks like I've put forth some sort of effort in the way of styling-- something that looks finished rather than barely-kempt, something safe but somewhat, dare I say, hip. I also secretly fear that my style-apathy is evolving into a Melissa Etheridge/Ferrick-esque style of butch. I don't want to wake up one morning and look in the mirror and find that I've become an Indigo Girl all because I was too lazy to put any effort towards my appearance. (You have to understand that I was raised by a man who believes that all makeup and style trends are the product of ultimate weakness and insecurity and women's bondage to men. And although I've realized that his own constant dieting and nightly workouts for the sake of "lookin' good" make him a hypocrite, I still can't help but feel like trying to improve my outward appearance is nothing but the revelation of my own growing flippancy. Whatever.) Getting to the point, from where I stand I can only see two options that would enable me to keep my long hair and look 'styled' (that sounds so fucking dumb) without having to sacrifice more than five minutes of my day. Option one involves the Jennifer Aniston long-layered look which, frankly, gives me nightmares. I have, however, begun to seriously consider the second option which is . . . bangs. I know you've said that you could never see me with bangs before, and I couldn't have before either, but after fucking around in the bathroom for half an hour this afternoon, I think it might be possible for me to pull it off. I've only had bangs once before and they honestly looked pretty crappy, but that was because I was 13 and REALLY didn't care and they were really thick. But what I'm picturing are very light, long, even bangs-- no feathering. I have pictures if you want clarification. And if you think it's a good idea, it would be so easy that you could do it for me.

This is really dumb. I should have just made it an email and saved myself the embarrassment. Oh well.

I also decided that although he doesn't look the part at all, my dad qualifies as being what the summer issue of Bust calls a "wimpster." I also contemplated the thought that I might also be a wimpster, but I'm hoping that simply fearing that I might fit the description exempts me from it. Probably not.

I've also recommitted myself to learning how to sew.

Is it evident yet that I've spent the majority of my day catching up on my magazine reading?

last - next

.