Site
 Meter

. .
. . just fucking charming .
. Here's the bio I had to write about myself that will hang underneath a picture of me (a polaroid, I presume) in the TLC:

My name is Anna, and I am an English and philosophy major with a minor in writing. This is my second year at UWSP and my first year as a reading/writing tutor. I dedicate 90% of my time to knitting, because I am the epitome of cool.

It's impossible to sum yourself up in 50 words or less, although I was able to allude to my sarcastic personality and self-deprecating tendencies in a single sentence. Go Anna!

Have I ever mentioned my loathing of exclamation points? I find them almost insulting in a way, as if they are simply mocking my complete lack of cheerleader pep. Regardless . . .

Three days of 6-2:30 shifts prevented my Labor Day weekend from being anything to celebrate, not that I intended for it to be anything other than blah. The upside was knowing that I got paid time and a half today and that I'll get another six hours of holiday pay because I'm nothing but a Kmart whore. The other good thing is that Lori gave me 34 hours next week which just sounds like money to me. The catch, of course, is that I'm working six days of the week and my only day off isn't until next Monday. I think I may have challenged insanity to a game of chicken. Whatever. I'm totally going to dominate.

In other news, David is in my natural resources class and we had a very pleasant conversation on Friday while we were waiting around. And so I hereby retract all of my past criticisms of David and his ego, because rather than being someone I resent and near-loathe, he has become someone I respect. Why, you ask? Because he has been aware enough to realize the pain his father's absence has caused in his life and, more importantly, he has been mature enough to swear never to cause the same pain to his own son. So he has made an amazing effort to work things out so that he contributes 50% to raising his child. And it's not that I admire him simply because he did the right thing and didn't become a deadbeat-- that's only reason not to think he's an absolute dick. What I admire about David is that he made a concious decision to stop a cycle of hurt and his son will no doubt be a better member of society for it.

I think there's also a certain amount of admiration that deserves to be bestowed upon anyone who juggles a full-time job with being a full-time student and a full-time parent. Each one of those on it's own can be mind-boggling. I can't even imagine.

It's certainly not something I'm up for doing.

last - next

.