Site
 Meter

. .
. . just fucking charming .
. A bunch of philosophical/religious clubs on campus sponsored a debate tonight between Peter Payne and Dan Barker on whether ethics requires God, which I went to because I'm writing my research paper for my philosophy of religion class on ethics and atheism. I expected it to be rather boring, but it was actually quite entertaining, largely because Dan Barker (evangelist turned atheist) wasn't afraid to take shots at people. He was funny. And it was kind of interesting because I thought that Peter Payne made it more of a point to keep the debate philosophical while Barker kept inciting a bunch of theology, all of which I could have done with less of. Regardless, it was good and there were a ton of people there and it was definitely worth the while.

My least favorite part: The girl who was sitting next to me who not only made me shake hands with her (which I think is only appropriate in the context of a formal, professional greeting) but after asking why I had come, preceded to ask whether or not I was a Christian. What? That's not small talk. I suck at making small talk and even I know that a question is just not something you ask someone thirty seconds after you introduce yourself. I did, however, share some of my paper with her so that she could take notes.

We went through the draft of my memoir in my writing class today, and my professor seemed to really like it, so I'm happy about that. I also took great satisfaction in being able to fully justify my use of the second-person with a gammet of well thought out, "writerly" reasons against the stupid girl with the uberweird highlights who only cares about running. "Being forced into your character might make the reader uncomfortable." That's the point. And the professor agreed with me. Sweet.

Mo and Bobbie (my co-op professor and the tutoring center director) also helped me choose a new advisor who will help me through grad school applications and other good stuff like that. So I have officially rejected the ass-wipe advisor that I was originally dealt and didn't give a flying fuck about anyone else but himself. Another very good thing. She is apparently well-connected and invested in getting students into grad school, and I had her for one of my Brit lit courses, so she at least knows my name.

Slowly, slowly, slowly, I think I'm finally starting to get my shit together.

last - next

.